Board of Abatement Minutes: June 19, 2014

Present: (in alphabetical order) Maureen Albert-Piascik, Fred Bacon, Mary Ann Clarkson, Gloria Cristelli, Ellen Darrow, Sandra Dowley, Christine Druke, Gary Katz, Doris Knechtel, Todd Lawley, Richard Marek, and Greg Record

Regrets: Priscilla Cotton    Absent: Michael Fitzpatrick

Sandra Dowley, vice-chair, called the meeting to order at 6 p.m.

Maureeen Albert-Piascik recused herself as treasurer and spoke as the collector of delinquent taxes.

Discussion ensued in regards to the addition of Shelby Winslow’s name not being on the list as it was warned.  General consensus took Winslow’s name off from the list for this Board of Abatement hearing, thus lowering the amount to be abated by $211.16.

The vice-chair turned the meeting over to Maureen Albert-Piascik, collector of delinquent taxes. (See Attachment for warning and list presented at the beginning of the meeting.)

The collector of delinquent taxes said that all but two of the taxpayers who had delinquent taxes were from Kenolie Village; these are people who no longer have a camper there, have not responded to notices, or had the notices returned so there is no forwarding address; therefore, the collector of delinquent taxes has no leverage in collecting the taxes. The owners of the Kenolie Village are taxed only on the property. The camper owner is responsible for decks and any other additions to the camp site.

Doris Knechtel, lister, and the collector of delinquent taxes outlined the history behind the request to abate Jeffrey Mortimer’s delinquent taxes and penalties. Discussion ensued. Gloria Cristelli moved that the Board of Abatement move the collection of delinquent taxes and penalties for Jeffrey Mortimer ($3,313.73) back to the delinquent tax collector. Fred Bacon seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Greg Record moved to abate all delinquent taxes and penalties in the amount of $10,061.74. Richard Marek seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted by,

Gloria J. Cristelli

Gloria J. Cristelli